Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Clinical Practice & Service

As a Carnegie Engaged University, the University of Connecticut is committed to serving the residents of the State of Connecticut.  The Department of Pharmacy Practice is a major contributor to our land grant mission and typifies “caring in the community.”

Our faculty directly impacts the community through our clinical practices and community outreach.  Our faculty has clinical expertise in a number of areas and had demonstrated the value of pharmacy services here in the State of Connecticut.

The provost has established a university-wide competition called the Provost’s Award for Public Engagement which is awarded to only two faculty members each year.  C. Michael White, Pharm.D. was a finalist for the award in 2010 for his efforts at dissemination of medical and drug information to people across the state and country.  Ask the Pharmacist is a weekly news segment on topics of interest to the general public on Fox Connecticut at 9 am on Tuesdays.  Thomas Buckley, RPh, MPH received this award in 2011 for his work with Cambodian refugees here in America and in Southeast Asia.  Devra Dang, Pharm.D. won the award in 2012 for her leadership in the Urban Service Track dealing with underserved patients and communities and her progressive clinical pharmacy services in a federally qualified health center, the Burgdorf Clinic in Hartford, Connecticut.

Peter Tyczkowski, RPh, MBA is the coordinator of the Office of Educational Outreach with numerous outreach projects including blood pressure screenings, File of Life programs, and the Health Profession’s Partnership Initiative. This year he is leading a team of students helping citizens in Connecticut choose optimal healthcare coverage through the ACA. Phil Hritcko, Pharm.D. is again leading pharmacist support for the Migrant Farmworker Clinic where our faculty, alumni, and supporters care for migrant farmworkers while they are here in Connecticut during the growing season. Kevin Chamberlin, Pharm.D. and C. Michael White have provided a series of web chats to patients across the country through the Tribune web chat program in which patients in any Tribune newspaper location can ask questions of our clinical experts.  Kevin Chamberlin helps run the Medication Disposal Program in Southington, Connecticut, which coordinates drug take-back events. Tom Buckley received the national American Society of Health System Pharmacists Leadership Award in 2010 for his efforts to reduce racial and ethnic disparities, and the UConn Faculty Development Abroad Grant for his global citizenship work. Devra Dang is the co-director of the university’s interprofessional Urban Service Track curriculum with students and faculty providing more than 2,000 person-hours of community outreach services each year to Connecticut’s underserved populations. Our faculty and staff have been actively involved with two local nursing agencies to direct the provision of MTM services to patients focused on mitigating slip and fall risk related to medications. Marie Smith, Pharm.D., Henry A Palmer endowed professor of community pharmacy practice, together with Margherita Giuliano and Commissioner of Social Services received an APhA Foundation Pinnacle award for their work with a network of pharmacists to provide MTM services.  Tom Buckley, Craig Coleman, and Jeannette Wick joined a mission team to Haiti led by staff member Barbara Murawski through the Great Commission Alliance. Sean Jeffrey, Pharm.D. was a founding member of the New Haven Coalition to Improve Medication Use in the Elderly.

Department of Pharmacy Practice faculty members are national and statewide leaders in the profession of pharmacy. Nationally, our department boasts past president of the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association, past-president of the Board of Directors for the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists Foundation, Board of Directors for the aforementioned college, past president of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists, and past speaker for the House of Delegates in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. At the state level, the Department of Pharmacy Practice boasts numerous presidents, past presidents, and vice presidents of the Connecticut Society of Health System Pharmacists, Connecticut Pharmacists Association and Connecticut Section of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists.

Look at our faculty pages to see what each of our faculty members are passionate about and what we have achieved in this area.

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us