Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Autumn 2010

Dear Friends:

One of the great advantages of a pharmacy school based at a comprehensive research university with strong professional and graduate programs in the health sciences is the opportunity for our professional and graduate students to participate in interprofessional and cross-program experiences. For example, our unique Urban Service Track Program brings together pharmacy, medical, nursing, and dental medical students who are committed to providing care for the underserved. Last spring, our professional and graduate students worked together to develop a program for young adults with autism. These opportunities not only serve the needs of others, but provide rich learning experiences for our students. We believe that such experiences are invaluable in their development as pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists.

Dr. Diane Burgess and Students Lauded

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Dr. Diane Burgess has been selected by the Academy of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology, Japan (APSTJ) as recipient of the APSTJ Nagai International Woman Scientist Award.

Dr. Burgess’s graduate students Archana Rawat and Ken Qian were recipients the 2010 International Pharmaceutical Excipients Council (IPEC) Foundation Graduate Student Scholarship at the 2010 American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Annual Meeting.

ASCP National Vice President

We are very pleased to announce that Dr. Sean Jeffery was elected as American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP) National Vice President for 2011 – 2012. Dr. Jeffery, a specialist in geriatric pharmacotherapy, has held numerous local and national posts for ASCP; he has also been instrumental in the establishment and growth of our active student chapter.

CPA Pharmacist of the Year

Dr. Devra Dang has been selected as Connecticut Pharmacists Association Pharmacist of the Year. Dr. Dang’s practice is at the Burgdorf Clinic and provides primary care services to underserved patients in Hartford.

USP Fellowship

Graduate student Mary Kleppe from Dr. Robin Bogner’s lab, was awarded one out of only four $25,000 United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Fellowships for 2010-2011, continuing a tradition of excellence that has netted our graduate program more of these awards than any other school in recent years.

LEND Fellow

P4 student Carlie Hershgordon is the first UConn pharmacy student to be selected as a LEND (Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental and Related Disabilities) Fellow. “LEND Fellows are required to make a 300 hour commitment to the program by participating in a four hour weekly seminar…as well as practica for a total of 10 hours per week over the course of one year. The seminar is a course not for a grade, but to attain competency in key areas. Examples of some of the topics are: leadership, family-centered care, cultural competency, financing, medical home, resiliency, brain and development, genetics and metabolic disorders, prematurity, intellectual disabilities and autism spectrum disorder. Some of the core themes that run through the course are family-centered care, interdisciplinary practice and the use of medical homes.”

APPE In China

P4 student Anni Li completed the school’s first advanced pharmacy practice rotation at Tasly Pharmaceutical Company as part of our comprehensive program with Peking Medical University. Tasly is the first company in China whose main focus in on modernizing traditional Chinese medicine and establishing its global market.

White Named Assistant Department Head

Dr. C. Michael White, Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, has been named Assistant Head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice.

Smith Appointed to Editorial Board

Dr. Marie Smith, Palmer Endowed Professor and Head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice, has been appointed to serve on the Annals of Pharmacotherapy Editorial Board, Health Policy Panel.

UConn Alumni Service Award

Congratulations to our own Rick Carbray, Class of 1975, who received the UConn Alumni Association Service Award recently. Rick, co-owner of a highly successful community pharmacy, served as both University and Pharmacy Alumni Association president.

Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students

Dr. Jose Manautou, an international expert in drug-induced hepatotoxicity, spoke at the 9th Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students.

Best wishes for a wonderful autumn!


Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.

Dean and Professor


School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us