Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Autumn 2012

Dear Friends:

For much of our history, our school’s research program has been primarily known for the cutting edge work of our faculty in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. In the 21st century, the research activities of faculty in the Department of Pharmacy Practice have also achieved great prominence. One of areas in which we have gained national acclaim is the field of pharmacoeconomics/outcomes. Although we have a highly-regarded fellowship program in this area, the demand for individuals with expertise in the discipline across our health care system continues to grow; as a result, we will be recruiting several new faculty who will take the lead in developing a new Ph.D. program in pharmacoeconomics/outcomes.

ASCP Archambault Award

Former faculty member and alumnus Dennis Chapron has been selected as this year’s American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP) Archambault Award recipient.

NCPA Pharmacist of the Year

Alumnus and School of Pharmacy Advisory Board Member Angelo DeFazio has been selected as the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Independent Pharmacist of the Year.

AAPS Graduate Student Award

Dr. Bodhi Chaudhuri’s graduate student Ekneet Sahni was selected as the recipient of the very competitive AAPS Graduate Student Award in Manufacturing Science and Engineering.

SNPhA Chapter of the Year Finalist

The UConn Chapter of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association has been selected as one of three finalists in the small chapter category for SNPhA Chapter of the Year.

2012-2013 CPA Scholarships

Three professional students have been selected to receive Connecticut Pharmacists Association (CPA) Scholarships: Steven J. Kruzshak Scholarship-Gus Campos; Murray Abraman Scholarship- Marianne Veitch; Henry A. Palmer Scholarship-Kelly Hagstrom

Faculty Assume AACP Leadership Positions

Several faculty recently assumed American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) leadership positions: Dr. Philip Hritcko, speaker of the House of Delegates; Dr. Lauren Schlesselman, secretary of the Assessment Special Interest Group; and Dr. Jill Fitzgerald, chair-elect of the Continuing Professional Education Section.

Urban Service Track (UST) Co-Director

The Connecticut AHEC Program has named Dr. Devra Dang as co-director of UST Programs.

ASP Travel Award

Dr. Marcy Balunas has received the D. John Faulkner Travel Award from the American Society of Pharmacognosy.

ACCP New Investigator Award

Dr. William Baker has been selected as the 2012 recipient of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) New Investigator Award.

Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us