Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Autumn 2011

Dear Friends:

This June, the School of Pharmacy welcomed our new president, Dr. Susan Herbst. Dr. Herbst is the first woman to serve as president of the University of Connecticut; she comes to us after serving as chief academic officer for the University of Georgia System. A native of New York, in many ways she is coming home. All of us have been thrilled with her energy and commitment to leading the university to the upper echelons of public higher education. In fact, we recently learned that UConn was for the first time named one of the top 20 public universities in the United States.

Morris Publishes Landmark Menthol Study

Dr. John Morris and colleagues at Yale University have published a landmark paper in the Journal of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology demonstrating that menthol blocks irritation by cigarette smoke irritants. The paper was of such significance that the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) will publish an article about the study for the online NIEHS newsletter.

Jeffery Elected ASCP President

Dr. Sean Jeffery was recently elected the president-elect of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists (ASCP). His presidential year will be in the 2012-2013 academic year. This is the culmination of years of service for Sean at ASCP; we are very proud that their electorate chose him as their leader.

Connecticut Stem Cell Grant

Drs. Urs Boelsterli, Ted Rasmussen, and Winfried Krueger have received a $1.29 million Connecticut Stem Cell Grant to support their project on idiosyncratic drug-induced liver injury and the role of genetic abnormalities in mitochondrial function that they propose to address with an iPS cell approach.

AZO Award

P4 student Katelyn Parsons was selected to receive the Alpha Zeta Omega (AZO) Jay L Pollock Supreme Undergraduate Award.

Timasheff Award

Graduate student Shermeen Abbas received the Serge N. Timasheff Award at the 2011 Colorado Protein Stability Conference. This conference focuses on protein characterization, stability, formulation, and aggregation.

2011 ASHP Literature Award

Dr. Marie Smith and colleagues will receive the ASHP Foundation Literature Award for Innovation in Pharmacy Practice at the 2011 ASHP Midyear Meeting for their Health Affairs May 2010 paper “Why the Pharmacist Belongs in the Medical Home.”

Enjoy the foliage!

Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us