Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Spring 2009

Dear Friends,

Like everyone else, the difficult financial times have been a significant challenge for us this academic year.  I am grateful to our exceptional leadership team and the support of our students, faculty, and staff for their commitment to ensuring that we don’t waver from the high standards of professional and graduate education that have been the hall mark of our school for nearly 8 ½ decades.  Just below the dark cloud of budgetary challenges, our students and faculty have continued to shine brightly.  Thanks to their efforts, we will emerge from this trial an even stronger and dynamic educational and research institution.

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor

Last month, the University of Connecticut Board of Trustees named Dr. Diane Burgess, professor of pharmaceutics, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor.  This is the highest honor that the university bestows on a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service.

Faculty Promotions

At the same meeting, the Board of Trustees approved the promotion/tenure of the following members of the School of Pharmacy Faculty:

  • Dr. Davy Kalonia to professor;
  • Dr. Craig Coleman to associate professor with tenure; and
  • Dr. Devra Dang to associate clinical professor.

Graduate Students

An abstract submitted by Xinsheng Gu, a student of Dr. Jose Manautou’s, was selected as a finalist for the Mechanism SS Postdoctoral Travel Award by the Society of Toxicology.

Dr. Diane Burgess’s pharmaceutics graduate student, Sudhir Verma, was selected as the recipient of the 2009 Schering-Plough Science and Innovation Award.  This award is given to an outstanding student who demonstrates leadership, creativity, innovation and who has made significant technical and scientific contribution to research.

Faculty Achievements

Drs. Michael White and Craig Coleman have been awarded $1.18 million from AHRQ for the next academic year to fund two projects.

Medicinal chemists Drs. Amy Anderson and Dennis Wright, along with their graduate students recently published two papers in the Journal of Medicinal Chemistry:

Structure-Based Approach to the Development of Potent and Selective Inhibitors of Dihydrofolate Reductase from Cryptosporidium
David B. Bolstad, Erin S. D. Bolstad, Kathleen M. Frey, Dennis L. Wright and Amy C. Anderson

Highly Efficient Ligands for Dihydrofolate Reductase from Cryptosporidium hominis and Toxoplasma gondii Inspired by Structural Analysis
Phillip M. Pelphrey, Veljko M. Popov, Tammy M. Joska, Jennifer M. Beierlein, Erin S. D. Bolstad, Yale A. Fillingham, Dennis L. Wright and Amy C. Anderson

Dr. Kevin Chamberlin has been selected as the 2009 CT-ASCP Consultant Pharmacist of the Year.

Wal-Mart Scholars Programs

Two faculty-student teams were selected for the 2009 AACP/Wal-Mart Scholars Program.  The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) and Wal-Mart, through this program, have teamed to help develop the next generation of pharmacy faculty by ensuring there are an adequate number of well-prepared individuals.  “The goal of this scholarship program is to strengthen the recipient’s skills and commitment to a career in academic pharmacy through participation in programming and activities at the 2009 AACP Annual Meeting and Seminars.”

The program provides $1,000 travel scholarships to 65 student-faculty pairs from AACP member institutions to attend the AACP Annual Meeting and the AACP Teachers Seminar in Boston, MA from July 18-22, 2009.

The UConn faculty student teams are:

  • Clayton D. English, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Lauren S. Schlesselman
  • Craig W. Freyer, Faculty Mentor: Dr. Diana M. Sobieraj

Palmer Endowed Professorship in Community Pharmacy Practice

At their April meeting, the university’s Board of Trustees formally established the Henry A. Palmer Endowed Professorship in Community Pharmacy Practice, the school’s first endowed professorship (to go along with two endowed chairs.)  More than 175 donors contributed to creating the professorship that honors Dr. Palmer for over 40 years of distinguished service to the university and the School of Pharmacy as a beloved teacher, scholar, and mentor.  This is a great honor for him and the school, and a tribute to his commitment to excellence.  We celebrated the creation of the professorship with Dr. Palmer, his family, and our wonderful donors at a brunch earlier this month.

Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us