Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Spring 2010

Dear Friends:

I never cease to be amazed by our students. Earlier this year, Pharmacy Student Government president Carlie Hershgordon had an idea: she wanted to teach young adults with autism about pharmacy and pharmacists. Earlier this spring, after months of planning, the School of Pharmacy hosted a dozen individuals with autism for a half-day program about pharmacy. Two dozen professional and graduate students led a program that included an introduction to pharmacy presentation, a lively question and answer session, lunch, and an opportunity to learn the basics of compounding. The day was a tremendous success for all involved, including our students who learned first-hand about the daily challenges facing individuals with autism and their families. As we frequently say in our school, doing good things for others can be the best learning experience of all.

Faculty Receive Promotion/Tenure

Congratulations to the following faculty:

Tenure as Professor—Dr. Marie Smith

Promotion to Associate Professor and Tenure—Dr. Olga Vinogradova

Promotion to Associate Clinical Professor— Dr. Trinh Pham

Project CHANCE

Last year our APhA-ASP chapter was awarded a Project CHANCE grant. The Project CHANCE program supports projects focused on enhancing pharmacy care within a 340B-eligible entity. Approximately thirteen P3 and P4 students worked with Drs. Diana Sobieraj and Stefanie Nigro at the Community Health Center in Meriden to provide MTM services to patients with hypertension. The student-faculty teams achieved a statistically-significant improvement in blood pressure control. A poster of their work was presented at the APhA Annual Meeting in March.

Morris Elected Officer of International Organization

Pharmaceutical Sciences Department Head Dr. John Morris has been elected to the position of treasurer of the prestigious Society of Toxicology.

Smith Named to Pharmacy Quality Alliance, National Academies of Practice

Pharmacy Practice Department Head Dr. Marie Smith has been selected as one of four individuals to represent the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy as a member of the Pharmacy Quality Alliance. Dr. Smith has also been elected to National Academies of Practice by her peers in pharmacy and other health professions.

Wal-Mart Scholar

Congratulations to P4 student Brian Bachyrycz who was selected as a 2010 AACP Wal-Mart Scholar from among a very competitive pool of candidates. Dr. Fei Wang will serve as Brian’s mentor.

4th Annual Pharmacy 4K Fun Run

Nearly 300 walkers and runners participated in this year’s Pharmacy 4K Fun Run, more than twice the number of participants we’ve had in the past. All proceeds from the race (over $4000) went to the James Malaney Memorial Scholarship. The Malaney Scholarship honors P4 student James Malaney, who was due to graduate in May; Jim lost a two year battle with bone cancer on New Year’s Day.

Associate Dean Hubbard Honored

Congratulations to Associate Dean Andrea Hubbard who has been nominated for a 2010 Undergraduate Student Government Professional Excellence Award. This is an award that recognizes excellence in the academic advising, education or professional support of the undergraduate students at the University of Connecticut.

Carbray Receives Alumni Award

Richard “Rick” Carbray has been selected to receive the University of Connecticut Alumni Association Service Award. Rick, co-owner of Apex Pharmacy in Hamden, Connecticut, is a past president of both the University of Connecticut Alumni Association and School of Pharmacy Alumni Association.

University of Bridgeport Memorandum of Understanding

Later this spring, we will sign a memorandum of understanding with our colleagues from the University of Bridgeport that will enable pre-pharmacy students from UB to apply to our pharmacy program beginning with the class entering fall 2012. UB’s pre-pharmacy curriculum mirrors our own. This MOU will be the first of its kind signed between our school and another institution.

Happy Spring!


Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.

Dean and Professor

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us