Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Spring 2011

Dear Friends:

Greetings from the home of the 2011 NCAA Men’s Basketball National Champions! Our professional and graduate students are blessed with the opportunity to enjoy two lives. On one hand, they are students in a small, close-knit school where they all know each other and their faculty & staff; at the same time, they are students of a major public research university with all the benefits such an institution offers, including first-class athletic teams. One of the highlights for me at the recently concluded APhA Annual Meeting in Seattle was the opportunity for UConn School of Pharmacy students, alumni, and faculty to get together to watch UConn take on the University of Arizona in the Elite Eight. This week, our students were just like all UConn students sporting their UConn colors with pride. Whether professionally, in the arts, or in the athletic arena, being a UConn student is a very special experience!

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor

Dr. John Morris, Professor of Toxicology and Assistant Dean for Research, has been named a Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor. BOT Distinguished Professor is the university’s highest faculty designation and is awarded to but a select group of faculty who have excelled in teaching, research, and service. Dr. Morris is an internationally recognized pulmonary toxicologist whose work has had a profound impact on our understanding of toxicities affecting the pulmonary system. He has been an advisory to many governmental agencies, including the United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA). He currently serves as an officer of the prestigious Society of Toxicology. Dr. Morris joins Drs. Diane Burgess and Debra Kendall as BOT Distinguished Professors in the School of Pharmacy.

CPNP Poster Presentation

It is not uncommon for our professional students completing IPPE or APPE rotations at practice sites to become involved in research or other projects. Two of our P2 students, Darren Luon and Amit Lal, are co-authors on a poster with preceptor Jose Scarpa, Director of Pharmacy at Natchaug Hospital. The project focuses on a DUE on the use of paliperidone as a monthly injection. Preceptor Scarpa writes, “I continue to say that I can’t say enough about the quality of our students. These guys not only work diligently on data collection, but also demonstrated to me that they are very committed to their learning at the school. Sometimes I may be hard pressed to differentiate P2s from P4s.” The poster will be presented in May at the 2011 College of Psychiatric & Neurologic Pharmacists Annual Meeting.

President-Elect, Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association (HOPA)

Dr. Lisa Holle has been elected president-elect of the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association (HOPA). HOPA is a national, nonprofit professional organization of more than 1400 hematology/oncology pharmacy practitioners (both pharmacists and technicians) as well as nurses, researchers, and administrators specializing in hematology/oncology practice. HOPA’s mission is to support hematology/oncology pharmacy practitioners in optimizing cost-effective care for people affected by cancer.

Stem Cell Institute Board

Dr. Brian Aneskievich has been appointed to the Board of the UConn Stem Cell Institute, a cross-campus collaboration to enhance the research environment for stem cell investigators.

University Scholar

P3 student Eric Gloede has been selected for admission into the University Scholar Program. His advisory committee includes Drs. John Morris, Gerald Gianutsos, and Andrea Hubbard. Eric was part of a group of 29 students who were awarded places in this prestigious program. Success in being appointed a University Scholar requires a great deal of hard work involving outreach to faculty members to serve on their University Scholar Faculty Committee, the identification of a major piece of scholarly work to be accomplished during the last three semesters of the student’s UConn career, the identification of an individualized plan of study involving rigorous coursework, and the completion of a written proposal that is reviewed by a multidisciplinary faculty committee.

Faculty Development Abroad Grant

Prof. Thomas Buckley has received a Provost’s Faculty Development Abroad Grant for his project, “Assessment of Pharmacy Services and Behavioral Change among Refugee Health Workers.”

American Dental Education Association Presentation

Dr. Devra Dang joined her Urban Service Track colleagues in dental medicine and medicine as facilitators of a two hour symposium presentation, “The Urban Service Track in Connecticut: A Service-Teaching Model that Meets the Needs of Today’s Health Professions Students,” at the 2011 American Dental Education Association Annual Meeting. The presentation encapsulated the history and development of UST, its educational partners, program components and student participants.

Paul Ambrose Scholar

P3 student Shamsul Arif has been selected by the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR) and the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) to participate in the tenth annual Paul Ambrose Scholars Program. He will join 45 other health professions students from across the country with similar interests in prevention education and health promotion for a leadership symposium in Washington, DC.

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award

Mamta Kapoor from Dr. Diane Burgess’s lab has been awarded a 2011-2012 Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award from the University Institute for Teaching & Learning for her exceptional contributions as a teaching assistant to professional pharmacy students.


Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.

Dean and Professor


School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us