Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Spring 2013

Dear Friends:

After 11 amazing years, in February, I informed Provost Choi of my decision to step down as dean at the end of June. I have been privileged to hold a position that only six other individuals have held during our nearly 90 years of existence. These years have been marked by many highlights, including moving into our new building in 2005, but what I will remember most are the people I have gotten to know along the way. Our UConn pharmacy family includes not only our students, faculty, staff, and alumni, but the scores of others who, because of their commitment to helping the school meet its mission of education, scholarship, patient care, and service, have made us one of the nation’s premier schools of pharmacy. To the many people who have supported our school over these years, I offer a heartfelt “thank you.”  When I became dean, I promised Dean Karl Nieforth that I would do my best to leave our school at least a bit better than I found it; I hope that I have been able to accomplish that goal.

Mental Health Consumers and Community Pharmacists

Dr. Charles Caley, in his role as president of the College of Neurologic & Psychiatric Pharmacists Foundation, partnering with the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI), played an integral role in the development of a survey report that “characterizes the interactions and relationships between mental health consumers and community pharmacists.”

Compounding Competition

Nine teams participated in this year’s school compounding competition, with Mel Masse, Meg Fletcher, and Dan DeCarlo emerging as winners to represent us at the National Competition in Florida in March.

Pharm.D. Student Researcher of the Month

The UConn Rho Chi Honor Society and School of Pharmacy Honors and Professional Research Committee announced the following recipients of the Student Researcher of the Month Award: Patrick Brooks (December, Dr. Lu); Steven Lemieux (February, Dr. Hadden); and Michele Miller (March, Dr. Hadden).

ASHP Clinical Skills Competition

Monika Zmarlicka and Cynthia Gagliardi were national finalists for the 2012 ASHP Clinical Skills Competition.

Pharm.D. Research Grants

The recipients of the Pharm.D. Research Grants for Fall 2012 were: Anastasia Shmukle for “Consequences of HSP Reduction due to Over Expressed TNIP1” (Dr. Brian Aneskievich) and Nanda Kommineni for “Formulation of Double Walled PLGA Microspheres” (Dr. Diane Burgess).

Eastern AHEC Award

Katelyn O’Brien received the Eastern AHEC Excellence Award.

Fulbright Scholar Returns

Dr. Carolina Ghanem’s recent application to Fulbright to return to UConn for some follow-up work with Dr. Jose Manuatou has been awarded.

Outstanding Alumnus Award

Dr. Sean Jeffery has been named an outstanding alumnus by The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy.

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us