Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Summer 2011

Dear Friends:

By now, we are all well aware of the incredible benefits of providing interprofessional care for our patients. Study after study has demonstrated that patients do much better when provided patient-focused care by a team of dedicated health care professionals. At the University of Connecticut, we are blessed by having nationally-recognized programs in dental medicine, medicine, nursing, pharmacy and other health professions allowing us to provide an array of opportunities for our students to learn and provide patient care together.  Our Urban Service Track (UST) Program, focused on preparing practitioners dedicated to caring for the underserved, is just one example of this interprofessional collaboration. As described below, we were thrilled that our UST Program was presented at the recent meeting of the American Dental Education Association.

UST at the ADEA

The University of Connecticut Urban Service Track Program was highlighted at the Annual Meeting of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA). Dr. Monty MacNeil, dean of the UConn School of Dental Medicine, chaired a session that included a presentation from Dr. Devra Dang, UST coordinator in the School of Pharmacy.  In addition to their presentation at ADEA, two Urban Track Scholars, Kevin Crozier, a P4 student from the School of Pharmacy, and Hannah Hughes, a second year student from the School of Dental Medicine, joined Dr. Ruth Goldblatt at the National Academy of Practice Annual Meeting, where they presented two posters (Trauma-Informed Care in the Cambodian – American Community and the University of Connecticut Urban Service Track- Interprofessional Education on the Care of the Under-served.)

Dr. Dang, on behalf of UST, was also awarded a Certificate of Excellence from the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research’s Successful Practices Initiatives program.

UConn Resident Assistant of the Year

P3 student Aimee Dietle was selected as the UConn Resident Assistant of the Year for the 2010-2011 academic year. Aimee was one of the RAs for the Pre-Pharmacy Learning. This is a very competitive award and her selection is the second time a pharmacy student has been honored in recent years.

Walmart Scholar

P4 student Andrew Straznitskas was selected as a 2011 AACP Walmart Scholar. Both Andrew and his mentor, Dr. Fei Wang, will travel to the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Annual Meeting and the Teachers Seminar in San Antonio in July.

National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST) Center for Neutron Research Summer School

Graduate student Kelly Forney (co-advisors: Drs. Robin Bogner and Michael Pikal) was granted a scholarship to attend the NIST Center for Neutron Research Summer School. Kelly also won an award for her poster “Effects of Sugars on Molecular Dynamics of Freeze-Dried Protein Formulations as Determined by 13C NMR Relaxation Times” at the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Northeast Regional Discussion Group Meeting this spring.

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Academic Leadership Fellow

Dr. Debra Kendall has been selected as a 2011-2012 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Academic Leadership Fellow. The Fellows program was developed by AACP in response to the need for an intensive leadership and management program within the pharmacy academy. Dr. Kendall will be the third member of our faculty to complete the fellowship following Associate Dean Andrea Hubbard and Dr. Phil Hritcko.

American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) Award

Dr. Marcy Balunas was selected for receipt of a highly-competitive ASP Research Starter Grant for her proposal entitled “Exploratory investigation of Alaskan glacial and periglacial bacteria for their potential in natural product drug discovery research.”

Dual Pharm.D./MPH. Program

P2 student Mark O’Brien was selected as the first student to be admitted to our new dual Pharm.D./MPH program.

Connecticut Business Group on Health Innovation

Margie Giuliano, executive vice president of the Connecticut Pharmacists Association, and Dr. Marie Smith, assistant dean and Dr. Henry A. Palmer Endowed Professor in Community Pharmacy Practice, have been cited by the Connecticut Business Group on Health Innovation for their innovative project.

Michael J. Hogan Graduate Summer Research Award

Graduate student Xiaoming Xu from Dr. Burgess’s lab has been selected to receive the prestigious Michael J. Hogan Graduate Summer Research Award.

I wish you a safe and happy (and warm) summer!


Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.

Dean and Professor


School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us