Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Summer 2012

Dear Friends:

In my ten years in the Dean’s Office, I don’t think we have had a more exciting time at the University of Connecticut! With the support of Governor Malloy and the state legislature, we are embarking on an exciting initiative, Bioscience Connecticut, that will result in a major expansion of our university hospital, increased class size in our medical and dental schools, the creation of a Genomics Institute, and the decision of the international renowned Jackson Laboratories to build a new facility on our Farmington Campus. In addition, we are establishing a technology park adjacent to our Storrs Campus, with the first building set to open in 2015. If that were not enough, the university will be hiring 290 new faculty over the next four years in areas of strategic focus, improving both our teaching and research capabilities; the School of Pharmacy alone will be hiring six new faculty over the next two years, three of which will join us this August. Exciting times indeed!

2012 APhA Pinnacle Award

The Connecticut Department of Social Services, Connecticut Pharmacists Association, and UConn School of Pharmacy received the 2012 American Pharmacists Association Foundation’s Pinnacle Award for Government Agency–Nonprofit Organization–Associations. This collaboration recognizes their work on the CMS Medicaid Transformation Grant, “Medicaid MTM Project,” which involved several UConn School of Pharmacy faculty and staff : Dr. Marie Smith, Professor Thomas Buckley, Dr. Devra Dang, Dr. Diana Sobieraj, and Dr. Lisa Bragaw.

Morris Research Publication Recognized

Dr. John Morris’s paper, “Menthol attenuates respiratory irritation responses to multiple cigarette smoke irritants,” was selected by the Faculty of 1000 (F1000) to be included in their library of the top 2% of published articles in biology and medicine.

Graduate of the Last Decade (G.O.L.D.) Award

Dr. Lauren Aleksunes, the school’s first dual Pharm.D./Ph.D. graduate, will receive the Graduate of the Last Decade (G.O.L.D.) award from the University of Connecticut Alumni Association. Dr. Aleksunes is currently assistant professor of pharmacology & toxicology at Rutgers University.

Developing Pharmacy Leaders

Dr. Lauren Schlesselman’s students who were enrolled in the Developing Pharmacy Leaders course this past fall decided to continue as independent study students in the spring in order to complete work on several outreach projects including one related to hearing loss due to earphones. The students prepared a broadcast e-mail to all UConn students to promote appropriate earphone use during finals weeks.

American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE) Fellow

Sophia Ononye, a graduate student in Dr. Amy Anderson’s lab, has been selected to receive the prestigious AFPE Pre-Doctoral Fellowship in the Pharmaceutical Sciences for 2012- 2013 academic year.

2012 UCHC/Storrs and Regional Campus Incentive Grant (UCIG) Awards

Two members of the School of Pharmacy faculty were part of two of the six teams that were awarded 2012 UCHC/Storrs and Regional Campus Incentive Grant (UCIG) Awards. Dr. Kyle Hadden was PI on a project entitled, “High-Throughput Screen to Identify Potential Therapeutics for Prader-Willi Syndrome;” Dr. Diane Burgess was PI on a project entitled, “Overcoming Nano-Molecular Interactions to Achieve Anti-Cancer Efficacy from Nanoparticle Delivery Systems.”

In Memoriam: Dr. Gilbert Hite

We were saddened to learn of the passing of Dr. Gilbert Hite, professor emeritus. Dr. Hite was a well-loved teacher and gifted researcher fondly remembered by many years of pharmacy and graduate students.


Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Dean, Professor & Vice Provost for Engagement

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us