Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Summer 2013

Dear Friends:

As many of you may know, Dr. Robert McCarthy stepped down as dean of the School of Pharmacy as of June 30, 2013. I am honored to serve as interim dean while the university conducts a national search for a new dean. This search is proceeding quickly; the university has hired a nationally recognized search firm (Isaacson, Miller) to assist the search committee which will be chaired by Dr Gregory Weidemann, dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. I encourage each of you to share your thoughts and/or nominations for the dean position with the search firm or search committee. I will keep the friends of the school informed as the search progresses.

I would be remiss if I did not thank Dr. McCarthy for his 11 years of dedicated service to our school. The school has become one of the nation’s premier schools of pharmacy due in large part to Dr. McCarthy’s tireless efforts on our behalf. My goals for the year are to ensure we lose no momentum, pass on no opportunity, and solidify and organize our current outstanding efforts such that we put the best foot forward to potential candidates for the permanent dean position. My task has been made much easier by the outstanding efforts of Dr. McCarthy.

News from the Associate Dean

On May 11, 2013, the Class of 2013 graduated with 93 Pharm.D. students, nine with honors and 13 as Urban Service Track Scholars. Approximately 95% of this class have confirmed job or residency commitments.

The Class of 2017 will begin their first year of UConn pharmacy school on August 26, 2013. This is a highly qualified class of 102 students who will enter with a math/science prerequisite GPA of 3.4; the majority of students completed their pre requisite coursework at UConn. Eleven students have previously earned bachelor degrees and one student will have a master’s degree prior to being enrolled into the Pharm.D. Program.

PHARM.D. Student Researcher of the Month

The UConn Rho Chi Honor Society and the School of Pharmacy Honors and Professional Research Committee announced the following recipients of the Student Researcher of the Month Award: April 2013 – Michael Ha, Advisor: Dr. John Morris; May 2013 – Chien Lo, Advisors: Drs. Richard Gannon and Michael Nailor.

NIH Study Section Chair

Dr. Amy Anderson, professor of medicinal chemistry has been appointed chair of the Drug Discovery and Mechanisms of Antimicrobial Resistance Study Section at the Center for Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health

School Faculty Continue their Tradition of National Leadership and Recognition

Dr. Sean Jeffery, clinical professor, is currently serving as president of the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists; Dr. Lisa Holle, assistant clinical professor, is currently serving as president of the Hematology Oncology Pharmacy Association; and Dr. Philip Hritcko, assistant dean for experiential education and associate clinical professor has been elected speaker of the House of Delegates of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. Dr. William Baker received the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Young Investigator Award and Dr. Craig Coleman received the best publication by a pharmacist award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

John B. Morris
Interim Dean

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us