Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Winter 2012

Dear Friends:

I think we are all familiar with the television advertisements touting the caring nature of nurses; they are beautifully created vignettes that remind the general public of the essential roles these dedicated health care professionals play in the care of patients; up to now, we have not had similar portrayals describing the equally valuable role pharmacists play in patient care. In response, the American Pharmacists Association has partnered with NBC Universal to highlight best practices in pharmacy and have selected several schools of pharmacy, including our school, to memorialize these practices on film; we have selected our Urban Service Track Program to highlight. This one-of-a-kind program brings together students in the UConn Schools of Dental Medicine, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, and Social Work who are committed to working with underserved patients after graduation. All of the best practice videos, including ours, are scheduled to be premiered at the APhA Annual Meeting in New Orleans in March.

Provost’s Award for Public Engagement

Professor Tom Buckley received the Provost’s Award for Public Engagement in the Faculty Category for his work with the Cambodian community in Hartford.

PhRMA Foundation Award

Dr. Bodhi Chaudhuri was awarded the PhRMA Foundation Award during the opening ceremony of the Annual Meeting of the AAPS in October.

Association for Prevention Teaching & Research Award (APTR)

Dr. Devra Dang received the APTR Certificate of Excellence for her case study developed through the Health People Curriculum Task Force’s Successful Practices Project, The Urban Service Track.

Continuing Professional Education Section, AACP

Dr. Jill Fitzgerald has been elected chair-elect of the Continuing Professional Education Section of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. Jill’s election caps quite a year for her that included our school being named the new continuing education provider for Drug Topics. Her election also continues a trend in recent years of our faculty holding leadership positions in AACP.

Fulbright Scholar

Dr. Carolina Ghanem from the Facultad de Farmacia y Bioquimica de la Universidad de Buenos Aires has been awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to work in the laboratory of Dr. José Manautou.

2012 UConn Guest Professorship

Dr. Lisa Holle received an award from the UConn Office of the Vice President for Research for a 2012 Guest Professorship, which will be used to bring Professor Dan Buffington in to work with our faculty. Dan will help determine how to set up and bill for services, and identify scholarship opportunities that would support the clinical and financial value of these services.

APhA One-to-One Patient Counseling Award

Dr. Stefanie Nigro was selected as one of twenty pharmacist recipients of the 2012 APhA One-to-One Patient Counseling Recognition Award; Dr. Nigro was nominated by one of her former patients.

APhA Top Ten News Item

The Connecticut DSS Medicaid Transformation Grant, a joint project of the UConn School of Pharmacy, the Connecticut Pharmacists Association, and Connecticut Medicaid, was cited as one of Pharmacy’s Top Ten News Items for 2011 by the American Pharmacists Association.

Winter Well!

Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us