Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Winter 2013

Dear Friends:

We welcomed the ACPE visiting team October 9-11, following 18 months of preparation including the development of a self-study. I am pleased to report that we received very positive feedback about our pharmacy program. The team designated a number of notable practices: professionalism of our student body; experiential education; student affairs; dual degree programs; development; assessment; student participation on school committees; and library access for preceptors. The ACPE Board will receive the team’s report at their meeting in January; as what is termed an “historic school,” we are eligible for an 8-year accreditation term; formerly, the maximum term was 6-years, which we received after our last review. I want to thank Dr. Lauren Schlesselman who led our self-study effort and the many students, faculty, staff, and alumni who served on one of the subcommittees.

Pharmacy Student Home Medication List Pilot

Department of Pharmacy Practice faculty member and Assistant Department Head Dr. Kevin Chamberlin, assisted by other UConn Health Center-based faculty and students, are partnering with Dempsey Hospital pharmacists on the Pharmacy Student Home Medication List Pilot Project. Pharmacy students are validating patients’ home medication lists; a pharmacist then contacts the medical team regarding any issues that may need to be addressed so that accurate medication reconciliation upon discharge can be accomplished.

Dr. Kristyn Greco

Former graduate student Dr. Kristyn Greco’s recent manuscript that was published this year was one of the ten most downloaded papers published in the last three months in the highly-respected Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences; this is indicative of both the quality and importance of Dr. Greco’s paper given that 75-100 papers were published in the journal during this period. Dr. Greco’s major professor was Dr. Robin Bogner.

APhA-ASP Awards

Our APhA-ASP chapter received two awards at the Region 1 Midyear Regional Meeting this fall. The chapter received the regional award for Operation Immunization (third year in a row!) and the Chapter Challenge award.

Student Researcher of the Month Award

Our chapter of the Rho Chi Honor Society, in conjunction with School of Pharmacy Honors and Professional Student Research Committee, has established the Student Researcher of the Month Award. The award highlights professional students who have made scholarly research contributions. The first award was made in November to Audrey Corman (Faculty Research Advisor: Dr. Kyle Hadden).

Morris Nominated to NRC Committees

Dr. John Morris has been nominated to serve on two new NRC committees that will work in parallel to conduct scientific peer reviews of both the styrene assessment and formaldehyde assessment in the National Toxicology Program’s 12th Report on Carcinogens.

Academic and Health Policy Conference on Correctional Health Fellowship Award

Dr. Meghan Ehret has received a fellowship award for the 6th Academic and Health Policy Conference on Correctional Health.

Winter well!

Warmly, Robert L. McCarthy, Ph.D., Dean

School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us