Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut SCHOOL OF PHARMACY

A Tradition of Excellence: Preparing Leaders in Pharmacy and the Pharmaceutical Sciences Since 1925

Endowed Chairs & Professorships

Endowed Chairs

  • The Pfizer Distinguished Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology was established in June 2004 with a $2 million gift from Pfizer Global Research and Development to appoint a nationally recognized researcher, scholar and teacher who has made significant contributions to the field of pharmaceutical technology, the applied science for development of dosage forms. It is the first such endowment in the United States made by Pfizer.  In October 2005, Dr. Michael J. Pikal, a nationally recognized researcher, was appointed as the first chair-holder.
  • The Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Endowed Chair in Mechanistic Toxicology was established in February 2006 with a $1.25 million gift from Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc. The faculty chair is dedicated to the investigation of new processes for evaluating experimental drugs and the development of predictive methods for identifying compound toxicities. It is the first endowed chair nationwide in the field of mechanistic toxicology which studies the processes and mechanisms underlying the toxicity of chemicals and explains how foreign compounds such as drugs, environmental pollutants and industrial chemicals exert their potentially damaging effects on cells and tissues. In October 2007, Dr. Urs A. Boelsterli, an internationally recognized researcher, scholar, and teacher, was appointed as the first chair-holder.

Endowed Professorships

  • The Henry A. Palmer Endowed Professorship in Community Pharmacy Practice is the first endowed professorship in the School of Pharmacy. This professorship will enable the School of Pharmacy to recruit a nationally renowned teacher and scholar whose research will focus on a variety of areas related to community pharmacy practice. The unprecedented changes in both the practice of pharmacy in the community and in regulation and reimbursement require academic pharmacy to examine those issues that will impact community practice in the next several decades. The shift in reimbursement model from product to professional services, the impact of Medicare Part D, the continuing significant role played by pharmacy benefit managers, workforce challenges, the future of entrepreneurship, and the effect on community pharmacy of an increasingly integrated health care delivery system are all critical areas worthy of study. The Palmer Professorship will bring considerable expertise to bear in examining these and other areas of inquiry so critical to the future of community pharmacy. In July 2010, Dr. Marie Smith, a nationally-recognized expert in e-prescribing whose work with Medicaid and the pharmacist’s role in the medical home has and will continue to have a direct impact on community pharmacy practice, was named the inaugural Palmer Endowed Professor.
School of Pharmacy
69 N Eagleville Rd
Storrs, CT 06269
Contact Us