UConn’s Lauren Schlesselman Named Associate Editor of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) recently announced the appointment of Lauren S. Schlesselman, Pharm.D. as associate editor of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (AJPE), the official scholarly publication of the association.

Schlesselman is assistant dean for academic and strategic initiatives and associate clinical professor at the UConn School of Pharmacy. She is a current member of the AJPE editorial board and has been a dedicated and committed reviewer for the journal. She is also a member of the editorial board for the Center for Advancement of Pharmacy Education. She has published papers in AJPE as well as Pharmacy Practice, Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning, American Journal of Hospital-System Pharmacy, and Formulary. Schlesselman also received the Rufus A. Lyman Award in 2008 for the best paper published in the journal that year. She is the chair-elect of AACP’s Assessment Special Interest Group and has been involved with the Laboratory and Curriculum Special Interest Groups.

Schlesselman is honored to have been selected. “It is a privilege to be asked to serve in this capacity. AJPE is highly regarded and provides the best practices from across the nation to our member schools and colleges.”

“We had a very strong pool of applicants interested in serving as associate editor for the journal, which reflects the quality of the membership in AACP,” said AJPE Editor Dr. Gayle Brazeau, according to the AACP press release. “Dr. Schlesselman will provide AJPE with much needed expertise in the scholarship of teaching and learning and in assessment and evaluation.”

Founded in 1937, the purpose of AJPE is to document and advance pharmaceutical education in the United States and internationally. The AJPE editor is Gayle A. Brazeau, Ph.D., dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of New England. Schlesselman joins Adam Persky, Ph.D.; Claire Anderson, Ph.D., B.S. Pharm.; Nancy Fjortoft, PhD; and Frank Romanelli, Pharm.D., MPH, who also serve as associate editors of the journal.