Welcome Back from Dean Halpert

Dear Friends,Photo of James Halpert

The start of a new academic year is always exciting. Students returning to the campus bring with them an energy and vitality that we miss during the summer months. With the incoming freshman class at UConn, the School of Pharmacy welcomes our first cohort of 24 students into the Special Program in Pharmacy. These students were selected from a large and highly qualified pool of applicants to join this program directly from high school and will be admitted to our Honors Program. We will be seeing them throughout their pre-pharmacy years in special honors course sections and events tailored to them. We also welcome our incoming Doctor of Pharmacy Class of 2020, as well as our new graduate students in the pharmaceutical sciences. I look forward to getting to know you as the year progresses.

I also welcome back our returning graduate and professional students. You will notice some upgrades and changes throughout the building including new paint, new furniture in the Morosko Student Lounge, and an entirely new look in the Milton & Rose Kalmanowitz Classroom. We are also expecting new carpet to be installed in the near future. We thank the people in Facilities for our new look and hope you will all take good care of our new furnishings. For our P4 students out on rotations, I look forward to seeing you at Interview Day next month when you can enjoy some of our upgrades.

On a more somber note, over the summer we lost Dr. Amy Anderson. I know many of you were inspired by her brilliance both in the classroom and in the lab. The school will host a celebration of her life in the Great Hall at the Alumni Center on Saturday, September 10 for those wishing to attend.

With Dr. Anderson’s passing, Dr. José Manautou has been appointed as the interim head of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. We thank him for stepping into this vital role. A second change in administration comes in the Office of Academic Affairs. Dr. Lauren Schlesselman stepped down as associate dean to accept a position at UConn’s Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning. We will still see Dr. Schlesselman, as she will continue to teach in the school this semester. We are also very fortunate that Dr. Kathryn Wheeler has agreed to serve as associate dean effective August 29. I also offer my congratulations to Dr. Kyle Hadden who was promoted to associate professor, Dr. Lisa Holle who was promoted to associate clinical professor, and Dr. Robin Bogner who was promoted to professor by the UConn Board of Trustees. University faculty undergo a rigorous review process to achieve these milestones, and we are proud to have these individuals among the numerous talented faculty in the school.

As we open the door on this new academic year, I ask you all to approach your studies with the hard work, creativity, and professional integrity expected of a UConn pharmacy student. Always remember that your work here is not only about today’s test, but about someone’s health in the future.

Enjoy your year!

Warm regards,

James R. Halpert, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor