Pharmaceutical Sciences Faculty

The Pharmaceutical Sciences department has a deep commitment to teaching and training. Our teaching mission is achieved through an active and rigorous graduate program in all three disciplines. The Department also shares the responsibility of teaching the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) curriculum with the Department of Pharmacy Practice. Graduates of the professional pharmacy program are given the skills and knowledge required to provide patient-centered pharmaceutical care.

We also continue our long tradition of training the next generation of pharmaceutical scientists. In addition to highly specialized research training in areas such as drug discovery, mode of action, drug formulation, and safety, all disciplines have unique core courses designed to provide fundamental concepts critical to each discipline. Our department enjoys great success in placing our PhD graduates both locally and nationally in government, industry, and academia.

The Department maintains strong ties to most clinical-oriented programs including those in the department of Pharmacy Practice, UConn Health Center, and UConn science departments such as Molecular and Cellular Biology, Physiology and Neurobiology, Nutritional Sciences, and Chemistry. Many faculty are also affiliated with the Institute for Systems Genomics. Students in the department have a wide range of opportunities to tailor their studies to meet their individual goals.

The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences is housed within the UConn Pharmacy Biology Building. This building is a modern facility (2005) and contains many state-of-the-art amenities including an NMR facility, vivarium, and proteomics facility, among others. Nearby buildings house many additional core facilities maintained by the University.


Chat Abeywickrama

Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Brian Aneskievich

Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Raman Bahal

Associate Professor of Pharmaceutics

Robin Bogner

Professor of Pharmaceutics

Diane Burgess

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutics, Pfizer Distinguished Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology

Bodhisattwa Chaudhuri

Professor of Pharmaceutics

Antonio Costa

Assistant Research Professor

Heidi Erlandsen

Medicinal Chemistry Assistant Research Professor

Kyle Hadden

Director of Research and Graduate Programs, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Hunmin Jung

Assistant Professor

Na Li

Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutics

Xiuling Lu

Professor of Pharmaceutics

José Manautou

Department Head-Pharmaceutical Sciences, Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Boehringer-Ingelheim Endowed Chair in Mechanistic Toxicology

Theodore Rasmussen

Associate Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Gregory C. Sartor

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

L. Cody Smith

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Olga Vinogradova

Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Xiaoyi Wang

Pharmaceutics Asst. Research Professor

Andrew Wiemer

Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Dennis Wright

Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Xiaobo Zhong

Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology